Shadow of the Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition is getting a physical release on Nintendo Switch 2. Limited Run Games will sell it in partnership with Aspyr, and pre-orders open at 12:00 PM ET on November 6, 2026. The Standard Edition costs $59.99 and the Collector’s Edition costs $99.99, according to the announcement coverage from CULTR, Nintendo Everything, Hey Poor Player and GoNintendo.
That is a clean, dated, priced announcement, which makes it rarer than it sounds in the current Switch 2 market. Buyers have spent months asking whether a physical box still means a full game on the cartridge, a question we tracked in our look at game-key cards after Macronix’s ROM exit. This announcement answers the price, the date and the box contents. It leaves the cartridge question open, and we will flag that gap wherever it matters below.
This analysis sticks to what the announcement confirms. Where the available reporting says nothing, we say so instead of guessing. No one at Limited Run Games or Aspyr has given an attributable quote, so this piece contains none.
Don't miss new tech stories on Google
Add Tech Insider once in the Google app and our stories appear in your news suggestions.
What Limited Run Games and Aspyr Announced
The core announcement is short. Shadow of the Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition will ship as a physical Switch 2 product through Limited Run Games, with Aspyr as the partner. Pre-orders run exclusively through the Limited Run Games storefront, so you will not find them at general retailers on day one.
Two editions exist. The Standard Edition is the plain physical copy, and the Collector’s Edition stacks display pieces and extras on top of it. Both include the same game, which the announcement describes as the base game plus all seven DLC challenge tombs, downloadable side missions, weapons, outfits and skills.
The outlets covering the news, CULTR, Nintendo Everything, Hey Poor Player and GoNintendo, converge on the same prices, dates and contents. That agreement across four named sites is what lets us treat the figures in this article as confirmed rather than rumored.
Pre-Order Dates: A 51-Day Window Starting November 6
Pre-orders open at 12:00 PM ET on November 6, 2026, which is tomorrow as of this writing. They close at 11:59 PM ET on December 27, 2026. Counting from the opening bell to the closing minute, buyers get just over 51 days to commit.
A window that long is a deliberate choice. It spans Black Friday, the weeks of holiday gift buying and the dead days between Christmas and New Year’s. A buyer who misses the first-day rush still has seven weeks to decide, and a gift giver can order well ahead of the closing date. Our reading, and it is only a reading, is that the dated cutoff gives Limited Run Games a defined demand picture before it finalizes production. The announcement itself does not explain the reasoning.
The announcement also does not state a shipping date. Anyone planning this as a holiday present should treat delivery timing as unknown until Limited Run Games publishes it. Pre-ordering by December 27 and receiving the game by December 25 are clearly two different things.
Standard Edition: $59.99 and What Is in the Box
The Standard Edition costs $59.99 USD, £55.00 GBP, €66.95 EUR or $84.99 CAD. For that money the buyer gets a Nintendo Switch 2 physical game cartridge, an official Nintendo Switch 2 game case, a full-color 8-page booklet and a free slipcover.
The slipcover deserves a second look. The announcement says it exists for storing the Tomb Raider trilogy together, which tells you how Limited Run Games and Aspyr see the product. They are selling a shelf set, not only a game. A buyer who owns the earlier entries in the trilogy gets a way to line the three up, and a buyer who does not gets a gentle nudge to complete the set.
An 8-page booklet is modest next to the thick manuals of the 1990s, yet it beats the empty case many digital-first buyers have learned to expect. Full color and official Nintendo packaging also matter to collectors who care about matching spines on a shelf.
Collector’s Edition: $99.99 for Display Pieces
The Collector’s Edition costs $99.99 USD, £90.00 GBP, €115.95 EUR or $147.99 CAD. It includes everything in the Standard Edition, so the cartridge, case, booklet and slipcover all come along. On top of that, the buyer gets four additions:
- A collector’s outer display box
- A custom official SteelCase
- The Shadow of the Tomb Raider Official Soundtrack CD
- A premium replica of the Key of Chak Chel
Most of that list is shelf material. The soundtrack CD is the only item that serves a second purpose, since it plays on hardware most households still own. The announcement gives no dimensions, materials or finish for the replica key or the SteelCase, so we will not describe them beyond their names.
The Price Premium Across Four Currencies
The gap between the two editions is $40.00 in US dollars, a 66.7% markup on the Standard price. The percentage shifts in other currencies, and the table below shows by how much.
| Currency | Standard Edition | Collector’s Edition | Gap | Premium |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| USD | $59.99 | $99.99 | $40.00 | 66.7% |
| GBP | £55.00 | £90.00 | £35.00 | 63.6% |
| EUR | €66.95 | €115.95 | €49.00 | 73.2% |
| CAD | $84.99 | $147.99 | $63.00 | 74.1% |
Source: Limited Run Games pricing as reported by CULTR, Nintendo Everything, Hey Poor Player and GoNintendo. Gap and premium percentages are our arithmetic.
British buyers face the lightest relative markup at 63.6%, while Canadian buyers face the heaviest at 74.1%. The spread is small, roughly ten percentage points, but a Canadian collector pays $63.00 extra for the same four additions an American collector gets for $40.00. Rounded price points and regional tax assumptions probably explain the differences, though the announcement does not say.
What the Game Itself Contains
The content list is the strongest selling point. Per the announcement, the package holds the base game, all seven DLC challenge tombs, downloadable side missions, weapons, outfits and skills. For a player who skipped the original release, that is the full campaign plus the add-on content in one purchase.
Challenge tombs and side content
Seven challenge tombs are a meaningful chunk of puzzle content. The announcement lists them alongside the side missions, weapons, outfits and skills, but it does not say how they are delivered. Whether they sit on the cartridge, arrive as a download or ship as separate files is exactly the sort of detail the announcement leaves out.
What reviews cannot tell us yet
No physical-release review, gameplay footage or performance data exists in the available reporting. That means resolution, frame rate, load times and battery behavior on Switch 2 are all unconfirmed. Anyone pre-ordering is buying on the strength of the content list and the packaging, not on measured performance. When the first performance analyses appear, they will matter more than the packaging for deciding whether the port is worth $59.99.
The Cartridge Question Nobody Has Answered
The announcement confirms a Nintendo Switch 2 physical game cartridge in the Standard Edition. It does not say whether the full game lives on that cartridge or whether the player must download some or all of it. We cannot resolve this from the available reporting, and we are not going to pretend otherwise.
The question carries weight because of what has happened to physical media on the platform. Our coverage of game-key cards after Macronix’s ROM exit examined cards that unlock a download rather than holding the full game. A collector paying $99.99 for a SteelCase and a display box has a legitimate interest in knowing what the cartridge inside actually contains.
Storage compounds the issue. If any part of the game requires a download, buyers need free space on their console, and we have already compared the card options in our guide to microSD Express versus standard microSD for Switch 2 and Steam Deck. Until Limited Run Games publishes the cartridge specification, that guide’s advice applies as a precaution rather than a requirement.
Where $59.99 Sits Among Switch 2 Physical Prices
Context helps here. The Standard Edition’s $59.99 equals about 12.0% of the $499.99 Switch 2 price we cited in our Switch Lite versus Switch 2 buying comparison. The Collector’s Edition at $99.99 equals exactly 20.0% of that figure. Put differently, a little over eight Standard Editions ($479.92) cost about as much as the console, and five Collector’s Editions ($499.95) match it almost to the dollar.
The table below lines the new release up against other Switch 2 physical and digital prices we have covered recently.
| Switch 2 title | Format | Price point |
|---|---|---|
| Thief: The Dark Project Remastered | Physical editions, Dec. 3 | From $29.99 |
| Godzilla: Destroy All Monsters Melee Remastered | Retail | $29.99 |
| Metaphor: ReFantazio | Nov. 12 release | $39.99 |
| Mega Man X Legacy Collection 2 | Physical, three editions | From $39.99 |
| Shadow of the Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition (Standard) | Physical, Limited Run Games | $59.99 |
| Shadow of the Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition (Collector’s) | Physical, Limited Run Games | $99.99 |
Prices drawn from our earlier coverage and from the Limited Run Games announcement. Formats and editions differ, so treat the comparison as directional.
The Tomb Raider Standard Edition lands at roughly double the entry price of Thief Remastered’s physical editions, which start at $29.99. It also sits $20.00 above the $39.99 starting price of Mega Man X Legacy Collection 2. Limited Run Games releases tend to carry a premium for small-run manufacturing and extras, and this one follows that pattern. The announcement does not break down its cost structure, so that explanation stays a reasonable inference and nothing more.
Competitive Comparison: Boutique Physical vs. Standard Retail
The real competition for this release is not another Tomb Raider port. It is the cheaper, easier alternative of buying a digital copy on the console, or waiting for a general retail release if one ever arrives. Limited Run Games sells exclusivity, packaging and shelf appeal. Digital sells convenience and, usually, a lower sticker price.
We have no confirmed digital price for this game on Switch 2 in the available reporting, so a direct price comparison is impossible. What we can compare is what each path delivers. The physical Standard Edition adds a case, an 8-page booklet and a slipcover that digital cannot. The Collector’s Edition adds a SteelCase, a soundtrack CD and a replica key. A buyer who values none of those things gains nothing from the physical premium.
Resale is the quieter factor. Boutique physical runs with a fixed window tend to hold collector interest, while digital licenses cannot be sold or lent. That is general market behavior, not a claim about this specific release, and the announcement offers no resale data.
Confirmed vs. Unconfirmed: A Scorecard
Pre-order stories attract rumor quickly. The table below separates what the announcement establishes from what it leaves open.
| Detail | Status | What we know |
|---|---|---|
| Physical Switch 2 release via Limited Run Games with Aspyr | Confirmed | Announced and reported by four named outlets |
| Pre-order window | Confirmed | 12:00 PM ET Nov. 6 to 11:59 PM ET Dec. 27, 2026 |
| Standard Edition price | Confirmed | $59.99 / £55.00 / €66.95 / $84.99 CAD |
| Collector’s Edition price | Confirmed | $99.99 / £90.00 / €115.95 / $147.99 CAD |
| Game content | Confirmed | Base game, all seven DLC challenge tombs, side missions, weapons, outfits, skills |
| Full game on the cartridge | Unconfirmed | No cartridge specification published |
| Performance, reviews, gameplay | Unconfirmed | None available |
| Shipping date | Not stated | Absent from the announcement |
| Quotes from Limited Run Games or Aspyr | Unconfirmed | No attributable quotation in the report |
Five rows are solid and four are open. If you are deciding whether to pre-order, the open rows are the ones to watch between now and December 27.
Market Impact: Premium Physical on a Young Console
Switch 2 is still building its library, and physical releases from outside Nintendo’s own studios help define what the console’s shelf looks like. A big third-party action game in a collector’s box signals that boutique publishers see enough appetite at the $60 to $100 range to run a dated pre-order campaign.
The November release calendar shows how crowded the surrounding weeks are. Our roundup of Nintendo’s nine November releases covers the first-party and partner titles competing for the same wallets. A Limited Run Games pre-order does not compete on the same calendar, since it closes on December 27 and ships later, but it does compete for the same holiday budget.
For Aspyr, the deal extends a physical presence for a title many players could already buy in digital storefronts. For Limited Run Games, a recognizable franchise brings foot traffic to its store and supports the exclusive-storefront model, where buyers must come to one site on one date. Neither company has commented publicly in the available reporting, so these motives remain our interpretation.
Historical Context: Why Physical Still Sells
Collector-focused physical releases of games that already exist digitally have become a steady niche. The appeal is simple: a shelf copy outlasts a store listing, and a SteelCase or soundtrack CD makes the object worth displaying. Tomb Raider fits the niche well, since the Standard Edition’s slipcover is built around the idea of a trilogy sitting together on a shelf.
Switch 2 adds a twist. The game-key card format and Macronix’s ROM exit, both covered in our earlier reporting, have made the contents of a cartridge a live question for every physical release. Third-party ports now get judged on packaging and on what is inside it, a pattern visible in the Stellar Blade Switch 2 reviews, which ran from 7/10 to 4.5/5. Whatever Tomb Raider’s cartridge turns out to hold, the question will follow it through launch.
For readers who track the wider platform, our gaming coverage hub collects the Switch 2 hardware, emulation and release stories in one place.
Predictions: What Happens Next
These are our own forecasts, not reported facts. Treat them as informed guesses with the reasoning shown.
- The cartridge specification surfaces before December 27. Buyers will ask on day one, and a company that wants pre-orders for a $99.99 box has every reason to answer. We expect the product page or a follow-up post to clarify it.
- The Collector’s Edition draws the louder reaction. Its extras give it the most to talk about, and a $40.00 premium is easy to rationalize for a fan of the series. We expect it to dominate social chatter even if the Standard Edition sells in larger numbers.
- Early performance impressions shape late pre-orders. With a 51-day window, first looks at frame rate and resolution can arrive while pre-orders are still open. Strong numbers would help, and weak ones would hurt, because the window leaves time to cancel or commit.
- A shipping date appears alongside or soon after the pre-order launch. Holiday gift buyers need it, and its absence from the announcement reads as an omission rather than a secret.
- More boutique physical ports follow. If this campaign performs, expect other publishers to try dated pre-order windows for catalog titles on Switch 2. This one is the weakest prediction, since nothing in the announcement points to it.
What Buyers Should Do Before November 6
Decide your edition first. If you want the game and a clean shelf copy, the $59.99 Standard Edition does that and the free slipcover handles trilogy storage. If you collect display pieces, the $99.99 Collector’s Edition adds four items, and you should check the price in your own currency since the premium runs from 63.6% to 74.1%.
Next, plan for the unknown cartridge detail. Clear space on your console or card in case a download is required, and watch the Limited Run Games listing for a specification. Finally, remember that the window stays open until 11:59 PM ET on December 27, 2026. You do not need to win a race at noon on November 6 to get a copy, so waiting a few days for early impressions costs you nothing within the announced dates.
FAQ: Shadow of the Tomb Raider on Switch 2
When do Shadow of the Tomb Raider Switch 2 pre-orders open?
Pre-orders open at 12:00 PM ET on November 6, 2026, exclusively through Limited Run Games. They close at 11:59 PM ET on December 27, 2026.
How much does the Standard Edition cost?
The Standard Edition costs $59.99 USD, £55.00 GBP, €66.95 EUR or $84.99 CAD. It includes the cartridge, an official Switch 2 case, an 8-page full-color booklet and a free slipcover.
What does the Collector’s Edition add?
At $99.99 USD, £90.00 GBP, €115.95 EUR or $147.99 CAD, it adds a collector’s outer display box, a custom official SteelCase, the Official Soundtrack CD and a premium replica of the Key of Chak Chel to the Standard Edition contents.
Does the cartridge contain the whole game?
Unconfirmed. The announcement lists a Switch 2 physical game cartridge but does not say whether the full game is on it or requires a download. Check the Limited Run Games listing for an update.
What content is included?
The base game, all seven DLC challenge tombs, downloadable side missions, weapons, outfits and skills, as reported by CULTR, Nintendo Everything, Hey Poor Player and GoNintendo.
Who is publishing the physical edition?
Limited Run Games is selling it, in partnership with Aspyr. Neither company has an attributable quote in the available reporting.
Is a shipping date confirmed?
No. The announcement covers the pre-order window and prices but does not state when copies will ship.
Is there a review or performance data for the Switch 2 version?
Not yet. No physical-release review, gameplay footage or performance specification appears in the available reporting.





